Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND) inquiry

 Education Committee to question DfE Ministers Nadhim Zahawi and Nick Gibb – Tuesday 21st May at 10am

The Education Select Committee will question Children and Families Minister Nadhim Zahawi and School Standards Minister Nick Gibb during the final session of the inquiry into special educational needs and disabilities.

This final oral evidence session will be an opportunity for the Committee to explore with the Ministers some of the issues raised throughout the inquiry, such as how the reforms in the Children and Families Act 2014 were implemented, the assessment process for Education Health and Care Plans (EHCPs), post-19 provision and tribunals.

The inquiry was launched in April last year to assess the success of the wide-ranging changes to the SEND system introduced by the Government in 2014. The Committee has heard from 70 witnesses and published around 500 written evidence submissions.

Parents and carers, schools and colleges, academics and sector professionals have all contributed to the inquiry and the Committee has also heard directly from children and young people with experience of the SEND system.

Witness schedule

Tuesday May 21st, Committee Room 15

At 10am

  • Nadhim Zahawi, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Children and Families
  • The Rt Hon Nick Gibb, Minister of State for School Standards
  • Dr André Imich, SEN and Disability Professional Adviser, Department for Education

The session will be broadcast live on Parliament TV here.

Written evidence from the Department for Education and the Department of Health and Social Care is available here.

Further information on the inquiry, written evidence submissions and transcripts of previous sessions are available here.

Committee Membership: Rt Hon Robert Halfon MP (Con, Harlow), Lucy Allan MP (Con, Telford), Ben Bradley MP (Con, Mansfield), Marion Fellows MP (SNP, Motherwell and Wishaw), James Frith MP (Lab, Bury North), Emma Hardy MP (Lab, Kingston upon Hull West and Hessle), Trudy Harrison MP (Con, Copeland), Ian Mearns MP (Lab, Gateshead), Lucy Powell MP (Lab Co-op, Manchester Central), Thelma Walker MP (Lab, Colne Valley), William Wragg MP (Con, Hazel Grove)


You may also be interested in these articles:

Register, Login or Login with your Social Media account:

The FE News Channel gives you the latest breaking news and updates on emerging education strategies and the #FutureofEducation.

Providing trustworthy and positive news and views since 2003, we publish exclusive peer to peer articles from our feature writers, as well as user content across our network of over 3000 Newsrooms, offering multiple sources of news across the Education and Employability sectors.

FE News also broadcast live events, webinars, video interviews and news bulletins so you receive the latest developments in Skills News and across the Apprenticeship, Further Education and Employability sectors.

 RSS IconRSS Feed Selection Page